Ryan Nyquist will no doubt shine on the San Francisco dirt course as he did on the park course in Ocean City. Photo: Brady 


Dew Tour Features All New BMX Street, Skate and BMX Streetstyle Events

Burr Ridge, IIISeptember 25, 2012 – The Dew Tour today announced the first round of confirmed athletes for the Toyota City Championships in San Francisco, Calif., October 18-21. The new Dew Tour will showcase the best in Skateboarding, BMX, and FMX during the 4-day action sports and lifestyle event. Top confirmed athletes include Paul Rodriguez, Ryan Sheckler, Nyjah Huston, Garrett Reynolds, Dennis Enarson and Ryan Nyquist.

The world's top street skateboarders will convene in San Francisco's Civic Center Plaza to compete in the Toyota City Championships, the only skate street event to be broadcast live on network television this year. In addition to Rodriguez, Sheckler and Huston, the street course will host Chaz Ortiz, Greg Lutzka and Torey Pudwill. The course, designed with input from participating skaters and industry veterans, will include replicas of iconic San Francisco skate spots, including Hubba Hideout and the China Banks.

"The level of competition at the San Francisco Dew Tour stop will be amazing," said Rodriguez.  "The city has such a special place in skate history, so to be competing there on a course with the iconic San Francisco elements will be a lot of fun."

Skate and BMX athletes will bring their creativity to Harrison Street for the first-ever Skate and BMX Streetstyle contests, two disciplines exclusive to the Dew Tour. Created to honor the action sports heritage of San Francisco, in collaboration with Dew Tour athletes, the courses will embrace the natural setting of the city's hills. Skaters and riders will cruise toward the legendary Embarcadero, creating their own lines using the big-gap features and streetstyle elements of the course. Sheckler, David Gonzales and San Jose native Omar Salazar are among the skaters set to compete in the event.  Fans can also keep an eye out for the Canadian superstar, Drew Bezanson, as he sets his sights on the first-ever BMX Streetstyle Dew Cup.

In addition to Streetstyle, BMX Street will also be introduced at the Toyota City Championships, as a new event alongside BMX Dirt and BMX Dirt Best Trick.  Along with NorCal native Nyquist heavy hitters such as Kyle Baldock, Ben Wallace, Corey Bohan and Cam White will be ripping up BMX Dirt. Dew Tour podium contender Dennis Enarson leads the pack of multi-discipline athletes, along with Garrett Reynolds, Chad Kerley, Dakota Roche and Sean Sexton, all competing in the inaugural BMX Streetstyle event.

The FMX Triple Threat competition, created by FMX legend Carey Hart, will take place directly in front of San Francisco's City Hall.  Ten riders will compete against each other in three rounds – no invert, best whip and rider's choice – to decide who will come out on top as the overall winner of the FMX Dew Cup.

Confirmed athletes include:

BMX Dirt BMX Street BMX Streetstyle
Kyle Baldock Simone Barraco Drew Bezanson
Drew Bezanson Stevie Churchill Vince Byron
Corey Bohan Dennis Enarson Dennis Enarson
Andrew Buckworth Josh Harrington Josh Harrington
Diogo Canina Bruno Hoffman Greg Illingworth
Pat Casey Garret Hoogerhyde Chad Kerley
Mike Clark Brian Kachinsky Corey Martinez
Scotty Cranmer Alex Kennedy Ty Morrow
Rob Darden Chad Kerley Garrett Reynolds
Chris Doyle Dan Lacey Dakota Roche
TJ Ellis Ben Lewis Sean Sexton
Dennis Enarson Corey Martinez Jeremiah Smith
James Foster Ty Morrow Dave Thompson
Ryan Guettler Garrett Reynolds Morgan Wade
Chase Hawk Dakota Roche Rob Wise
Josh Hult Aaron Ross Gary Young
Seth Klinger Sean Sexton  
Steven McCann Jeremiah Smith  
Mark Mulville Nathan Williams  
Anthony Napolitan Rob Wise  
Cory Nastazio    
Ryan Nyquist    
Luke Parslow    
Kevin Peraza    
Daniel Sandoval    
Colton Satterfield    
Jaie Toohey    
Ben Wallace    
Cameron White    
Gary Young    

*Athlete appearances are subject to change

The Dew Tour Toyota City Championships will be showcased across 11 broadcast hours on NBC and NBC Sports Network and across an all-new digital platform with live streaming, plus exclusive behind the scenes and in-depth content on dewtour.com.  The new broadcast platform will offer coverage from every day of the four-day events and more live Dew Tour coverage on NBC and NBC Sports Network than any previous year.

The Dew Tour Toyota City Championships will be free to attend giving fans access to be a part of the best skateboarding, BMX and FMX competitions and check out the Dew Tour Experience with skate and BMX courses built just for the fans, autograph signings, giveaways and more.  Premium Passes are currently available for purchase at www.dewtour.com.  Thursday's FMX Triple Threat Pit Pass ($50) includes an FMX athlete meet and greet and autographed poster.  Friday's Premium Pass ($35) will guarantee seating at all competitions, as well as exclusive Dew Tour swag, while Saturday's Premium Pass ($65) will guarantee seating at all final events and include a meet and greet with a skate street athlete.

The complete 2012 Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event                                                   Date                             Location

Pantech Beach Championships              August 16-19                 Ocean City, Md.

Toyota City Championships                   October 18-21               San Francisco, Calif.

iON Mountain Championships                December 13-16            Breckenridge, Colo.

The Dew Tour Toyota City Championships will air live on NBC Sports Network on Friday, October 19 at 7:30pm ET, on Saturday, October 20 on NBC at 1:30pm ET, and on Sunday, October 21 on NBC at 2:00pm ET.  Additional broadcasts on NBC Sports Network will be October 18 at 11:00pm ET, October 20 at 11:00pm ET, October 21 at 11:00pm ET and October 28 at 11:00pm ET.

For additional Dew Tour event information, visit www.DewTour.com and the Dew Tour Facebook page.