2012 Vans Rebeljam Results

Via Rebeljam:


Tossa de Mar, Spain 7 October  2012. The world's top BMX riders gathered in Tossa de Mar, Spain this weekend, 5-7 October, to ride the Street, Flatland, Park and Dirt features of the incredible Europark set up during the 6th Annual Vans Rebel Jam.

Saturday's qualifiers narrowed the field for Sunday's Street, Park & Dirt finals, and the flatland finals took place in an isolated cove on the seaside, with some spectators crowded around the platform, sand in their toes, the others dotted high in the cliffs overlooking the action.   Creativity, Hard Trick and Style awards were up for grabs in flatland, which is a different format compared to the one point score used normally. In the end, 2012 Flatland world champion Matthias Dandois from France amazed the gathered crowd and grabbed the style award, Jesse Puente from the USA won the Creative Award and flatland veteran Alexis Desolneux took the Hard Trick award back to France.

On Sunday the Vans Rebeljam continued with a straight final in the pro dirt class. The field of pro riders was split into groups and each rider got to roll down the hill three times to impress the judges. With a good crowd enjoying the riding it was Daniel Sandoval who ruled the dirt jumps. After making it to the last sets via the trail section on the top of the hill, the American busted loose over the trick sets and won both the Hard Trick and style award.

Up next was the street contest at the Eurocamp facility. The newly built stair/rail/ledge section had serious dimensions but it didn't hold back the riders one bit. Diogo Santos from Portugal scored high with his 180 crooked grind to 180 down the rail. Third place was his. Germany's Bruno Hoffmann needed his teammate's bike to finish the tricks he had in mind, but it worked in the end as he pulled the Luc-E grind to 180 off the 2 meter high ledge to the delight of the crowd. But it wasn't over because first place qualifier Dan Lacey (UK) was on fire on Sunday too and pulled what he wanted to do. First place was his as he destroyed the new obstacle.

The park set up at Eurocamp had many lines which riders got to use on their own during their runs. The 24 finalists were split into six groups of four for 10 minute jam sessions plus time for a last trick for each rider. In the Spanish sunshine Kevin Kalkoff styled around the course and found more lines than any other rider. His speed and flow was amazing. The style award went to the Frenchman. Gary Young is known to use a course differently than others so having a Creative Award to give away, the American had good chances to get it. With a score of 90,80 he beat second place winner Ben Hennon with 2,80 points, winning the award. You don't see double backflips every day but Andrew Buckworth showed more than one in the park finals. The one over the box jump was a no-handed version but after a few attempts the Australian also did a double loop over the spine. The final award of the event (Hard Trick) went to the young Australian.

Rebeljam number 6 is in the pocket and it was another good one. The vibe was chill and the scene was impressive. Eurocamp now has new ramps to enjoy thanks to the event being held in Tossa de Mar.



Vans Rebeljam is made possible with support from Monster Energy, Jansport, Federal, Pro-tec, Fiat, Eurocamp and Marshall Headphones.


Hard Trick Award
1. Andy Buckworth
2. Daniel Sandoval
3. Ben Hennon
4. Vince Byron
5. Maxime Charveron
6. Kevin Peraza
7. Todd Meyn
8. Harry Main
9. Jack Watts
10. Mark Webb

Creative Award
1.Gary Young
2.Ben Hennon
3.Maxime Charveron
4.Tobi Wicke
5.Mark Webb
6.Kevin Peraza
7.Bass Keep
8.Kevin Kalkoff
9.Daniel Sandoval
10.Rob Darden

Style Award
1. Kevin Kalkoff
2. Bas Keep
3. Daniel Sandoval
4. Gary Young
5. Ben Hennon
6. Kevin Peraza
7. Maxime Charveron
8. Rob Darden
9. Harry Main
10. Danie Penafiel
1. Dan Lacey
2. Bruno Hoffmann
3. Diogo Santos
4. Ed Zunda
5. Dakota Roche
6. Ola Selsjord
7. David Budko
8. Diego Navarro
9. Vasya Lukyanenko
10. Andres Lainevool



Hard Trick Award
1. Daniel Sandoval
2. Rob Darden
3. David Godziek
4. Andy Buckworth
5. Ben Hennon
6. Mark Love
7. Kevin Peraza
8. Lima Eltham
9. Jeremy Muller
10. Gary Young

Style Award
1.Daniel Sandoval
2.Dan Foley
3.Kevin Kalkoff
4.Lima Eltham
5. Rob Darden
6.Kye Forte
7.Jeremy Muller
8.Kevin Peraza
9.Ben Hennon
10.Gary Young



Hard Trick Award
1.Alexis Desolneux
2.Jesse Puente
3.Dez Maarsen
4.Matthias Dandois
5.Guelo Monzon

Creative Award
1.Jesse Puente
2.Albert Moya
3.Alexis Desolneux
4.Matthias Dandois
5.Thomas Noyer

Style Award
1.Matthias Dandois
2.Jesse Puente
3.Kevin Nikulski
4.Thomas Noyer
5.Aleksi Ritsilä

Web: www.rebeljam.com
Twitter: @vansrebeljam
Facebook: www.facebook.com/rebeljam

For a full download of images, please go to:


Photo credits: Vincent Perraud